Would you rather be Right or Kind?

would you rather be right or kind?______________.

 

What brought up this question was an event I experienced at a gathering of ladies who have met daily for the last thirty years at the local fast food coffee house to work crossword-puzzles.  Mom had been a regular and when she had a stroke, we daughters used to take her, even though she stopped guessing at the answers.  She enjoyed seeing familiar faces.

Now I like a challenge to get my mental juices flowing.  I also love to be right, for that means, ‘I win!’

Mom has been gone for awhile now and this day I decided to drop in and join in the fun.  They had already been at it a half hour when I sat down.  The oldest white haired lady had been given the job of reading the clues and filling in our best guess as to the answer.  The boxes were tiny in the clipping from the paper, and I could see her squinting her eyes.

“Um…um”. She said, hesitatingly.  We had all agreed on the word to fill the blanks and she was trying to pencil them in.  I peeked over.  Oh- no!  She misspelled it!  I reached over a finger to ‘help’ point out her mistake.  I told her, “That’s not an ‘I’,  its an ‘A’.”

Three of the other ladies were aghast at my importunity.

“Let her be!”

“Let her take her time!”

“We never push!”

Ah!  Me being accused of wrongdoing?  Where was I wrong?  Sure I was right in the letter, but my ‘get it right or be corrected’ spirit was pushing my own ego agenda.  I caused more fluster to this fragile soul and therefore defeated the purpose of fun for which they had gathered.

I had to realize that over the years these ladies had so tuned to each other that ‘no pushing’ had become their rule of love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

