Refocussed to Miracles

ImageTHE TATTOOED MAN:  I saw him pre-showering by the entrance to the Athletic club’s pool:  tats (tattoos) on arms, hands, back of neck.  He even had one on his cheek!  He had huge ‘bullet hole’ piercings in his ears, and their two steel ring inserts matched the studs in his bottom lip.  His head was shaved yet age-wise he could have been some kid’s dad.

I had a choice- to react out of fear, or be God’s love for this ‘Holy Child of God.’

My exercise in the therapy pool was over and I headed for the long spa tub for some soothing jets.  As I entered I reaquainted  with a lady I had spoken to last time about strained relations I was having. (Oh, you don’t know that relaxing in a spa equals gals chatting?)  I updated her that I chose to practice forgiveness, and she agreed it’s better not to add fuel to the fire resulting in more hurt feelings.  “It’s not worth it,”  we agreed.

As she left, I saw the tattooed man entering.  Now I know very well a lighthearted jest breaks the ice, so I said the first thing that came into my mind, “This is the philosophy corner.”  I wondered if it had been an obscure joke for even as I laughed, I could see he was confused.

Now I had to set him at ease.  Oh, now what was it my daughter told me about people with tattoos from her anthropology class?  Oh, yes, that each tattoo holds special meaning to its wearer.

“Which is your favorite?” I asked inching closer to hear his reply. (I had taken my hearing aids out before entering the water.)  He pointed to what looked like two red mangos joined at the bottom.  It was a puffy heart.  “This sacred heart has healing beams coming out of it.”  He said.

My! He is a proponent of Love’s power!  My confidence soared.

“Oh, then it seems to me, since it is on your hand that if you laid hands on the sick, healing beams would come to give them a miracle!”  Now I got a smile as he agreed.

So, next time you see tattoos, ask Love to take over.

One story deserves another.  Lets keep communicating.   Oh, I need to post another story about how I saw others express love…!  Look for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

