May 6th, 2010: Room With a View/ New perspectives

Today is my sister’s birthday.  While sitting with local family at the Cafe’ International (the one with carved elephant and lion napkin rings), my sister mentioned it was the beginning of her 61st year and acted like it was a brand new adventure.  I had to comment,  “Been there, done that!”  I realized the only difference was one of perspectives.

When she pulled out her camera for me to scroll where she had been (Brice Canyon, golf courses of Arizona, Hawaii)  I realized a theme for the day: perspectives.  Still I was able to spot one place I had been:  Bisbee, Az.  Sis was actually surprised when I said I had visited a client/ friend of our ‘Community’s’ mentor.  She lived at the top of one of Bisbee’s concrete staircases and cooked extremely fabulous Italian dishes.  (She ground the crystalized salt and peppercorns in her mortar and pestle to top our torn leaf salad!) “Mama-Mia!”

I was on duty with Mom from 9 to 2 so I showered her, fixed cereal with powdered reds, greens and lecithin topped with soy milk. (She is lactose intolerant, but we get soy milk cartons by the case at Costco.)  I poured Fulvic liquid minerals into her orange juice, and got her to swallow her meds.  I played a Kenny Rogers CD with “You light up my life.”  After breakfast we played a game of Scrabble.  I changed the rules to drawing eight tiles and allowing words to spill off the edge.  (It’s all in the perspective!)

Next I led her in exercises: arms first in and out then round forwards at the shoulder ‘paddle the canoe’ then backwards ‘row the boat’.  Up to one side crossing to down the other “semaphore flags saying H,  I!”  Other side says J, K!  (She used to be a Mariner Girl Scout leader.) Leg lift were a chore as I had to physically lift each one by her leg cuff.  I was actually the one getting the exercise!  Then we did “Onward Christian Soldiers Marching as to war.”  This led her past a window out of which she could see white rain snowing down.  As I tucked her lap robe around her elevated feet and dropped the cat on her lap to ‘pet’, I considered that since her stroke her ‘perspective’ has shifted to a new phase in her life.  I told her to be glad, for if she had not had that change in her condition I probably would still be in Phoenix chasing after my dream of personal healing.

Who would have thought that by attending to my Mom’s care I would  be set aside in a stress free environment of pristine natural beauty and healing would just seep into me almost by osmosis?  When Mom changed her perspective it opened the door for me to change mine!

I was reading Eckhart Tolle’s book, A New Earth today.  And I quote, “The stronger the Ego the stronger the sense of separateness between people.  The only actions that do not cause opposing reactions are those that are aimed at the good of All.  They are inclusive, not exclusive.  They join, they don’t separate.  They are not for ‘my country’ but for all of humanity, not for ‘my religion’ but for the emergence of consciousness in all human beings, not for ‘my species’ but for all sentient beings and all of nature.”

Wow!  Talk about changing perspectives!  This blog is focussed on themes that change from illness to health, from poverty mentality to wealth, from ignorance to being wise.  I think I’ll leave you with Mr. Tolle’s wisdom and take a break to meditate on it for a while.  Who knows.  Maybe if enough of us change our perspectives it will bring ‘Peace on Earth, Good-will to Men!”     Shelley

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

